site-campaign-small

الثورة المصرية تدخل مرحلة جديدة

PrintE-mail

احدى السمات الرئيسية للوضع الثوري هي السرعة التي يمكن أن يتغير بها مزاج الجماهير. العمال يتعلمون بسرعة على أساس الأحداث، والأحداث التي جرت في الساعات الأربع والعشرين الماضية تبين أن العمال والشباب في مصر يتعلمون بسرعة.

الثورة المصرية تدخل الآن مرحلة جديدة. السخط الذي تراكم على مدى شهور في أعماق الجماهير اندلع أخيرا في احتجاجات جماهيرية استمرت طوال الليل في ميدان التحرير في القاهرة.

«تشعر وكأنه يناير 2011. يبدو أن الثورة قد عادت بطريقة كبيرة» هذا كان كلام مراسل البي بي سي ينقل بدقة جوهر الوضع الذي يتميز بالتغير السريع في وعي الجماهير.

الشرارة التي سببت الانفجار كانت محاكمة حسني مبارك الرئيس السابق المتهم بالتواطؤ في قتل حوالي 850 متظاهر خلال الانتفاضة الثورية لعام 2011. ولكن في واقع الأمر له أسباب أعمق بكثير متجذرة في تطور الثورة نفسها. يمكننا رؤية نفس السيرورة في كل ثورة ليس فقط في الثورة الروسية ولكن أيضا في الثورة الفرنسية لعام 1789 - 1793.

الثورة ليست مسرحية من فصل واحد كما أنها ليست عملية بسيطة تسير إلى الأمام بشكل دائم. الإطاحة ببن علي ومبارك كانت انتصارات عظيمة ولكنها فقط الفصل الأول من دراما الثورة. أشار ماركس إلى أن الثورة تحتاج إلى سوط الثورة المضادة للمضي قدما. بعد أكثر من سنة على بداية الثورة المصرية نرى أن الجماهير بدأت بالحراك مرة أخرى.

في مقالتي قبل يومين أشرت إلى ما يلي:

    «نحن نعلم من التجربة التاريخية أن كل ثورة تمر عبر مرحلة أولية من الأوهام الديمقراطية. تبدو الجماهير في الشوارع وهي تتقدم باستمرار، وتدفع جانبا كل العقبات. تبدو مثل موكب لا يسير إلا في طريق واحد – نحو الأعلى. تشعر الجماهير بقوتها وتعتقد أنها لا تقهر. في هذه المرحلة من الثورة تكون الفكرة الرئيسية هي الوحدة الوطنية: "الشعب" متحد في النضال ضد عدو مشترك.

    «ثم تأتي المرحلة الثانية. تبدأ الجماهير بدءا من العناصر الأكثر تقدما ووعيا سياسيا، في فهم أنها قد خدعت، وأن أيا من أهدافها الرئيسية لم تتحقق، وأن لا شيء تغير من حيث الجوهر. هذه المرحلة، التي تترافق مع شعور بالإحباط وجميع أنواع الانتفاضات المتشنجة، هي بداية حدوث تمايز داخلي في معسكر الثورة. تدريجيا تبدأ أكثر العناصر ثورية والعناصر البروليتارية في فصل أنفسها عن العناصر المتذبذبة، والوصوليين والسياسيين البرجوازيين الذين استغلوا الثورة لأغراضهم الخاصة.

    «هذه مرحلة لا مفر منها. وهي المرحلة التي تمر منها الثورة المصرية الآن.»

لقد أكدت الأحداث التي تتطور الآن هذه الفرضية. عندما انضم المصريون إلى الثورة العام الماضي لم يطلبوا تغيير النظام فقط ولكن تغييرا جوهريا في الاقتصاد أيضا. الثورة رفعت توقعات التحسن في مستوى المعيشة ولكن سرعان ما تبددت هذه الآمال. الملايين من المصريين يعانون من ارتفاع معدلات البطالة والأسعار وتدني الأجور وتفشي الفقر والفساد. الثورة كانت بخصوص العمل والخبز والسكن.

ولكن على مدى الأشهر الخمسة عشر الماضية لم يتغير شيء لا وبل معظم الناس يرون وضعهم المادي يزداد سوءا. العديد من الخريجين لا يجدون عملا، الفقراء يزدادون فقرا عن أي وقت مضى. الكثير من المصريين من الأحياء الفقيرة مجبرون على العمل في وظائف مؤقتة أو في بيع السجائر أو الفاكهة في الشارع بسبب عدم قدرتهم على العثور على عمل مناسب.

بالنسبة لهؤلاء الناس ليس لمرشحي الرئاسة أي معنى. أيا كان الرابح فأنه لن يكون قادرا على التعامل مع الأزمة الاقتصادية العميقة في مصر أو توفير فرص العمل والسكن. السياحة التي كانت تستخدم لجلب مليار دولار في الشهر أصيبت بالانهيار. مصر تعد مستوردا صافيا للطاقة وتملك موارد طبيعية قليلة. أسعار الطاقة آخذة في الارتفاع مما يضع عبئا ثقيلا على الفقراء. الإنتاج المحلي توقف في بعض مناطق من مصر ومئات المصانع أغلقت أبوابها. الصادرات أيضا أقل بالمقارنة مع مستويات ما قبل الثورة. الاستثمارات الأجنبية جفت خوفا من الاضطرابات السياسية.

الفكرة التي تجذرت في أذهان الجماهير هي أن شيئا لم يتغير. لقد تغيرت بعض الأسماء ولكن النظام لا يزال هو نفسه. أرباب العمل نفسهم يديرون المصانع. المسؤولون الفاسدون نفسهم يضعون في جيوبهم ثروة الأمة. رؤساء الشرطة نفسهم ما زالوا مسؤولين عن أجهزة قمع الدولة. الجنرالات نفسهم يحركون الخيوط من وراء الكواليس.

والآن وجد الاستياء المتراكم والإحباط في محاكمة مبارك نقطة تركيز محورية لانتباه الناس.

محاكمة مبارك

الرئيس المخلوع البالغ من العمر 84 عاما كان أول زعيم سابق تتم محاكمته حضوريا منذ بداية الربيع العربي في أوائل عام 2011. عند إعلان الحكم قال القاضي أحمد رفعت أن مبارك ووزير الداخلية السابق حبيب العادلي قد "اخفقا في إيقاف قوات الأمن عن استخدام القوة المميتة" ضد المتظاهرين العزل.

في المحصلة الرجلين وجدا مذنبين وحكم عليهما بالسجن مدى الحياة. القاضي نظرا لخوفه الواضح من رد الفعل الشعبي أصر على أن المحاكمة التي دامت عشرة أشهر كانت نزيهة وقال إن عهد مبارك كان "30 عاما من الظلام" وأشاد بمن وصفهم بـ "أبناء الأمة الذين انتفضوا سلميا من أجل الحرية والعدالة". ولكن هذه الكلمات تبدو وكأنها سخرية قاسية من آمال الملايين من المصريين العاديين الذين خاطروا بحياتهم لتحدي الدكتاتورية في الشارع في العام الماضي.

وفقا للقانون المصري فإن العقوبة القصوى لهذه الجرائم هي الإعدام. العديد من المصريين قتلوا خلال الانتفاضة وعائلاتهم ورفاقهم توقعوا أن الرجل الذي كان مسؤولا عن عمليات القتل هذه يجب أن يدفع الثمن الأقصى على جرائمه. بدلا من ذلك حسني مبارك بإمكانه توقع قضاء بضع سنوات في زنزانة مريحة حيث سيتم توفير جميع وسائل الرفاهية له حتى يتم الإفراج عنه لأسباب تتعلق ب "سوء الصحة".

يجري بالفعل الإعداد لهذه الخدعة. ذكر التلفزيون الحكومي أن مبارك حين كان ينقل إلى السجن رفض في البداية مغادرة الطائرة وبعد ذلك عانى من مشاكل صحية خطيرة. ثم ذكرت التقارير أنه تم إدخاله إلى مستشفى السجن.

مما يزيد الطين بلة أنه تمت تبرئة نجليه علاء وجمال المتهمين بتهم فساد متعددة ولكنهما سيبقيان قيد الاحتجاز حيث ستوجه إليهما تهما بالتلاعب بسوق الأوراق المالية. ومن الواضح أن الخطة (أ) كانت لرمي مبارك مثل عظمة إلى الكلاب من أجل الحفاظ على ما تبقى من النظام القديم. ولكن إذا لم ينجح ذلك فسيتم التخلص من نجليه كذلك. ولكن الأمور لم تسر وفقا للخطة.

مباشرة بعد صدور الحكم اندلعت اشتباكات في المحكمة. في الخارج استقبل الحكم في البداية بالاحتفالات ولكن سرعان ما حل الغضب عندما بدأت تنتشر أخبار التبرئة. ما جعل الجماهير أكثر غضبا هو تبرئة المسؤولين الأمنيين الرئيسيين الذين كانوا في المحاكمة جنبا إلى جنب مع مبارك. تمت تبرئة أربعة مسؤولين في وزارة الداخلية واثنين من قادة الأجهزة الأمنية المحلية من تهمة التواطؤ في قتل المحتجين. لقد تم الإفراج من دون تهمة عن جميع ضباط الشرطة الذين أمروا رجالهم بإطلاق النار على المتظاهرين العزل.

هذا الأمر يبعث برسالة مباشرة وواضحة جدا لأجهزة قمع دولة: يمكنكم الاستمرار في قتل وتعذيب المتظاهرين والإفلات التام من العقاب. هذا ما أثار غضب الجماهير الذي عبرت عنه في تظاهرات في جميع أنحاء مصر. الاحتجاجات في القاهرة لحقتها مسيرات ضد الحكم في الإسكندرية والسويس والمنصورة.

كان لصدور الحكم الذي كان القصد منه وضع حد وإنهاء الثورة المصرية أثر عكسي. لقد فتح الجراح التي ما زالت حديثة جدا وعميقة جدا كي تلتئم وذكر الشعب بقوة بأنه لم تتحقق أيا من أهداف الثورة. قبل كل شيء كشفت حقيقة أن جهاز الدولة القديم لا يزال في مكانه دون تغيير تقريبا. شعار انتفاضة العام الماضي: "يسقط حكم العسكر" يجري الهتاف به الآن في الساحات والكثيرين يدينون بصخب الحكم الذي صدر يوم السبت.

ثمانية عشر شهرا من بداية الثورة التي اندلعت تحت شعار الديمقراطية وليس هناك ديمقراطية في مصر. محاكمة مبارك تدل على أن كل الكلام عن القانون والعدالة ليس له أي معنى. لا يوجد قضاء مستقل: كان من الواضح أن القاضي في محاكمة الرئيس مبارك لم يكن محايدا بل دمية في يد النظام. النائب العام نفسه معين من قبل الرئيس مبارك.

المتظاهرون في ميدان التحرير، نقطة محورية في انتفاضة العام الماضي، يقولون إنهم عازمون على بدء الاعتصام وقد انضمت إليهم شخصيات عامة بارزة ومشجعو كرة القدم المعروفون باسم الالتراس الذين انخرطوا في عدد من المواجهات السياسية.

مراسل البي بي سي يولاند كنيل قال ناقلا من ميدان التحرير أن هناك غضبا بالتحديد على أحكام براءة المسؤولين والتي فهمها الكثيرون على أنها إشارة إلى أن الحديث عن الإصلاح أجوف ولا شيء قد تغير.

«الحكم على مبارك هو سخرية منا. هو و[وزير الداخلية السابق حبيب] العادلي حصلا على حكم في حين أن مساعديهم لم يحصلوا على شيء» هذا ما قاله المحتج شريف علي للبي بي سي وتابع: «عندما يعودا إلى محكمة الاستئناف سيتم الإفراج عنهما أيضا».

لكن، يضيف مراسل البي بي سي، آخرون يتدفقون إلى الشوارع انطلاقا من خيبة الأمل في الوضع السياسي القائم.

انتخابات مزورة

الانتخابات الرئاسية الأخيرة نظمتها الدولة نفسها التي كانت قد تمت وراثتها سليمة من حقبة مبارك مع نفس البيروقراطيين والجنرالات ورجال العصابات الذين ما زالوا في السلطة. توقع انتخابات نزيهة من هذه العصابة هو كمن يطلب الكمثرى من شجرة الدردار.

الجولة الأولى من الانتخابات الرئاسية الأخيرة تركت المصريين بين خيار الانتقاء بين المرشح الإسلامي ورئيس الوزراء السابق من عهد مبارك، وهذا يعني، لا خيار على الإطلاق. أما مرشح اليسار، حمدين صباحي، المرشح الحقيقي للثورة، فتم دفعه إلى المرتبة الثالثة وراء أحمد شفيق المعادي للثورة وأخر رئيس وزراء لمبارك.

الانتخابات الرئاسية لن تحل شيئا. المصريون توقعوا تحسينات اقتصادية دراماتيكية بعد انتفاضة العام الماضي ولكنها لم تتحقق. سوف يطالبون الحكومة الجديدة بأن تفي بوعود الثورة. ولكن لن يتم حل شيء إن كانت جماعة الإخوان المسلمين أو أحمد شفيق من سوف يشكل الحكومة المقبلة. أزمة النظام الرأسمالي تنفي أية إمكانية للتحسن.

العجز في الميزانية يقارب ال 10٪ من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. البرجوازية تطالب ب "إصلاح جدي" (ما يعني تخفيضات كبيرة) في نظام الدعم الاجتماعي الذي يشكل 30٪ من الميزانية الوطنية. ولكن كيف يمكن القيام بذلك وفي الوقت نفسه حماية الفقراء؟ أو بكلمات أخرى، كيف يمكن للمرء أن يربع الدائرة؟

طالما أن النظام الرأسمالي لا يزال موجودا في مصر فإن المستقبل الوحيد الذي ينتظر العمال والفلاحين هو انخفاض مستويات المعيشة والفقر والجوع. ولكن هذا ليس ما كان من المفروض أن تقوم الثورة به! فقد بدأ العمال بالفعل بالإضرابات للمطالبة بزيادة الأجور.

نفاد الصبر والرغبة في إيجاد طرق مختصرة يؤدي دائما إلى كارثة. فمن الخطأ أن نعلق أهمية كبيرة على تطورات سريعة الزوال، مثل انتخابات (مزورة). والخطأ الأكبر هو إعطاء الكثير من الاهتمام للصراع السياسي بين الفصائل المختلفة للبرجوازية في القمة واهتمام غير كاف للتيارات الثورية التي تتطور في القاع. علاقة الأولى بالثانية شبيهة بعلاقة رغوة الأمواج بالتيارات في أعماق المحيط. وهذا يعني أن الأولى هي ظواهر سريعة الزوال.

إن الثورة المصرية سوف تتطور على مدى فترة من السنين وتتأرجح صعودا وهبوطا. سيكون هناك تقدم ولكن أيضا هزائم ونكسات. ولكن من خلال كل هذا فإن العمال والشباب سوف يتعلمون. هذه العملية يمكن أن تكون أقصر بكثير إن لم يرتكب الماركسيون المصريون أخطاء خطيرة مثل خطأ الدعوة للتصويت للإخوان المسلمين. يجب علينا ومهما كان الثمن الحفاظ على استقلالنا المطلق عن جميع فصائل البرجوازية.

عن طريق الجمع بين الصلابة السياسية والمرونة التكتيكية اللازمة يمكن للقوى الصغيرة للماركسية البدء في الحصول على صدى بدءا من العمال الأكثر وعيا والشباب. تجربة حكومة الإخوان المسلمين ستفتح أعين الملايين على الطبيعة الطبقية الحقيقية لهذه الحركة وتظهر الهوة التي تفصل بين الأقوال والأفعال وستعد لمنعطف حاد إلى اليسار في وقت لاحق.

تزوير الانتخابات أعطى دفعة قوية للحركة الجماهيرية مما يؤكد عدم صحة محاولة عرقلة تقدم الثورة المضادة من خلال الدعوة للتصويت للإخوان المسلمين على أساس أنهم "أهون الشرين". من أجل هزيمة الثورة المضادة المطلوب هو ليس التحالفات الانتخابية والتكتلات في الأعلى ولكن النشاط المباشر للجماهير.

لقد فهمت العناصر الأكثر تقدما في مصر هذا الأمر. احتجاجا على تزوير الانتخابات اقتحم المتظاهرون مقر حملة شفيق في الفيوم جنوب القاهرة. هذا، وقبل كل شيء، الاحتجاجات الحاشدة في شوارع القاهرة ومدن أخرى يبين أن الثورة لم تهزم وأنها لا تزال تملك احتياطات كبيرة من الطاقة وأنها لن تستسلم دون قتال. وهذا وحده هو ما يجب علينا أن نعتمد عليه.

يجب على الماركسيين أن تكون لهم ثقة في أنفسهم، في برنامجهم وأفكارهم. وقبل كل شيء، يجب أن تكون لديهم الثقة في الجماهير الثورية والطبقة العاملة. علينا أن نذكر أنفسنا بأن العنصر الحاسم في المعادلة الثورية، الذي اضطر مبارك إلى التنحي في نهاية المطاف، كان تدخل الطبقة العاملة، والطبقة العاملة لا تزال مفتاح الوضع برمته.

الثورة المصرية كانت قد سبقت بأكبر حركة إضراب شهدتها مصر منذ أكثر من نصف قرن. بين 2004 و2008 أكثر من 1.7 مليون عامل شاركوا في أكثر من 1900 من الإضرابات وغيرها من أشكال الاحتجاج. في الفترة الأخيرة كان هناك 3000 إضراب بما في ذلك جميع القطاعات الحكومية والخاصة على حد سواء. كان العديد منها ناجحا مما أدى إلى زيادة في الأجور. لكن الصراع الاقتصادي لم يعد كافيا. حتى عندما تكون الإضرابات ناجحة وهنالك زيادة في الأجور فإن تأثير ذلك يزول قريبا نتيجة التضخم.

لقد بدأت الثورة المصرية لكنها لم تنتهي. من أجل حل مشاكل المجتمع المصري لا بد من القطع مع الرأسمالية ومصادرة ملكيات الرأسماليين والإمبرياليين وإنجاز التحول الاشتراكي للمجتمع. وهذا ممكن وأيضا ضروري. فليكن شعارنا:

"ثورة حتى النصر"

لندن، 3 يونيو 2012

Translation: Marxy.com (Arab World)

Home » Other languages » Arabic

Egyptian Revolution enters new stage

One of the main features of a revolutionary situation is the suddenness with which the mood of the masses can change. The workers learn quickly on the basis of events. And the events of the last 24 hours show that the workers and youth of Egypt are learning fast.

The Egyptian Revolution is now entering into a new stage. The discontent that has been accumulating for months in the depths of the masses finally erupted in mass protests, which have continued overnight in Cairo's Tahrir Square.

“This feels like January 2011. It seems that the Revolution is back in a big way.” These words by a BBC correspondent accurately convey the essence of the situation, which is characterised by a rapid change in the consciousness of the masses.

The spark that detonated the explosion was the result of the trial of ex-President Hosni Mubarak, accused of complicity in the killing of about 850 protesters during the revolutionary uprising of 2011. But in reality it has far deeper causes, which are rooted in the development of the Revolution itself. We see a similar process in every revolution, not only in the Russian Revolution but also in the French Revolution of 1789-93.

A revolution is not a one-act drama. Neither is it a simple, forward-moving process. The overthrows of Ben Ali and Mubarak were great victories, but they were only the first act of the revolutionary drama. Marx pointed out that the revolution needs the whip of the counter-revolution to advance. Over a year since the start of the Egyptian Revolution, the masses are stirring once more.

In my article two days ago I pointed out the following:

“We know from history that every revolution passes through an initial phase of democratic illusions. The masses on the streets seem to be advancing constantly, pushing aside all obstacles. It is like a procession that can only go one way – upwards. The masses feel their strength and believe themselves to be invincible. In this stage of the revolution, the main idea is unity: the “people” are united in struggle against a common enemy.

“Then comes the second stage. Beginning with the most advanced and politically conscious elements, the masses begin to understand that they have been deceived, that none of their main objectives has been achieved, and that, in essence, nothing has changed. This stage, which is accompanied by a sense of frustration and all kinds of convulsive uprisings, is the beginning of an inner differentiation in the revolutionary camp. Gradually, the more revolutionary and proletarian elements separate themselves from the vacillating elements, the careerists and bourgeois politicians who have hijacked the Revolution for their own ends.

“This is an unavoidable stage. It is the stage through which the Egyptian Revolution is now passing.”

The events that are now unfolding have confirmed this hypothesis. When Egyptians joined the revolt last year, they were demanding not only a change of regime but a fundamental economic change. The Revolution heightened expectations of improvements in living standards. But these hopes were soon dashed. Millions of Egyptians are suffering from high unemployment and prices, low wages, widespread poverty and all-pervasive corruption. The Revolution was about bread, work and housing.

But over the last 15 months nothing has changed and most people have even seen their financial position worsen. Many graduates cannot find work. The poor become ever poorer. Unable to find proper work, many Egyptians from poorer neighbourhoods have been forced into casual jobs or selling cigarettes or fruit on the streets.

For these people, the presidential candidates have little meaning. Whichever contender wins will be unable to deal with Egypt's deep economic crisis, or provide jobs and houses. Tourism, which used to bring $1bn a month, has collapsed. Egypt is a net importer of energy and has few natural resources. The price of energy is rising, putting a heavy burden on the poor. Domestic production has halted in parts of Egypt as hundreds of factories have closed down. Exports are also lower compared to pre-revolution levels. Foreign investment has dried up, frightened by the political upheaval.

The idea has taken root in the minds of the masses that nothing has changed. Some of the names have changed, but the system remains the same. The same bosses run the factories. The same corrupt officials pocket the wealth of the nation. The same police chiefs are in charge of the organs of state repression. The same generals pull the strings from behind the scenes.

Now all the accumulated discontent and frustration have found a focal point in the trial of Mubarak. It served to concentrate the attention of the people.

The trial of Mubarak

The 84-year-old former president was the first former leader to be tried in person since the start of the Arab Spring in early 2011. Announcing the verdicts, Judge Ahmed Refaat said Mubarak and former Interior Minister Habib al-Adly had “failed to stop security forces using deadly force” against unarmed demonstrators.

In the end the two men were found guilty and sentenced to life imprisonment. The judge, obviously fearing the popular reaction, insisted that the 10-month trial had been fair. He said the Mubarak era had been "30 years of darkness" and praised what he called "the sons of the nation who rose up peacefully for freedom and justice". But these words sound like a cruel mockery of the aspirations of millions of ordinary Egyptians who risked their lives to defy the dictatorship on the streets last year.

According to Egyptian law, the maximum penalty for these crimes is death. Many Egyptians were killed during the uprising, and their families and comrades expected that the man who was responsible for these murders should pay the ultimate price for his crimes. Instead, Hosni Mubarak can expect to spend a few years in a comfortable prison cell, where all the luxuries will be provided until he is released on grounds of “ill heath”.

The preparations for this trick are already being made. State television reported that as he was being transferred to jail, Mubarak at first refused to leave the helicopter and then suffered from severe health problems. He has reportedly been admitted to the prison hospital.

To add insult to injury, Mubarak and his two sons, Alaa and Gamal, were acquitted on separate charges of corruption, although his sons will remain in detention as they are to be charged with stock-market manipulation. Evidently, Plan A was to throw Mubarak like a bone to a dog, in order to preserve the rest of the old regime. But if that did not work, they would throw out his two sons as well. But things did not go according to plan.

Immediately after the verdict, scuffles erupted in court. Outside, sentencing was initially greeted by celebrations, but anger soon took over when news of the acquittals spread. What made the crowds even more furious was the acquittal of key security officials who were on trial alongside Mubarak. Four interior ministry officials and two local security chiefs were cleared of complicity in protesters' killings. Every single one of the police officers who ordered their men to fire on unarmed demonstrators has been released without charge.

This sends a direct and very clear message to the organs of state repression: you can carry on killing and torturing demonstrators with complete impunity.  It is this that has provoked the fury of the masses, expressed in demonstrations all over Egypt. The protests in Cairo were seconded by rallies against the verdict in Alexandria, Suez and Mansoura.

A verdict that was meant to bring closure and terminate the Egyptian Revolution has had the opposite effect. It has opened wounds that are too recent and too deep to heal. It has forcefully reminded people that none of the aims of the Revolution has been achieved. Above all, it has exposed the fact that the old state apparatus remains virtually unchanged. The slogan from last year's uprising: "Down with the military rule" is being chanted in the square and many have vociferously condemned Saturday's verdict.

Eighteen months after the start of the Revolution that was fought under the banner of democracy, there is no democracy in Egypt. The trial of Mubarak shows that all talk of law and justice is meaningless. There is no independent judiciary: the judge in Mubarak’s trial was clearly not impartial but a puppet of the regime. The Prosecutor General was appointed by Mubarak himself.

Protesters at Tahrir Square, the focal point of last year's uprising, say they are determined to begin a sit-in. They have been joined by prominent public figures and football fans known as Ultras, who have been implicated in a number of political confrontations.

The BBC's Yolande Knell, reporting from Tahrir Square, says there is particular anger at the acquittals of the officials, which many take as a sign that the talk of reform is hollow and nothing has changed.

"The Mubarak verdict mocks us. He and [former Interior Minister Habib] Adly got a sentence and their aides got nothing," protester Sharif Ali told the BBC. "When they return to court on appeal, they will be freed too."

But, the BBC correspondent adds, others have poured on to the streets out of disillusionment at the current political situation.

Rigged elections

The recent presidential elections were organized by the same state that was handed down from the Mubarak period intact, with all the old bureaucrats, generals and assorted gangsters in charge. To expect fair elections from this gang would be like asking pears from an elm tree.

The first round of recent presidential elections has left Egyptians with a choice between an Islamist candidate and an ex-prime minister from the Mubarak era, that is to say, no choice at all. The candidate of the Left, Hamdeen Sabahi, the real candidate of the Revolution, was pushed into third place behind the counter-revolutionary Ahmed Shafiq, Mubarak’s last prime minister.

The presidential elections will solve nothing. The Egyptians people anticipated dramatic economic improvements after last year's uprising but they did not materialise. They will demand that the new government deliver on the promises of the revolution. But whether the Muslim Brotherhood or Ahmad Shafiq forms the next government, nothing will be solved. The crisis of capitalism rules out any improvement.

The budget deficit is close to 10% of GDP. The bourgeoisie is demanding “serious reforms” (that is, deep cuts) in the subsidy system, which takes up 30% of the national budget. But how can this be done while protecting the poor? That is to say, how can one square the circle?

As long as the capitalist system continues to exist in Egypt, the only future that awaits the workers and peasants is one of poverty, falling living standards, poverty and hunger. But this is not what the Revolution was supposed to stand for! Already the workers are striking for higher wages.

Impatience and the desire to find short cuts always lead to disaster. It is a mistake to attach too much importance to ephemeral developments, such as a (rigged) election. It is an even bigger mistake to pay too much attention to the political struggle between different factions of the bourgeoisie at the top, and insufficient attention to the revolutionary trends that are developing at the bottom. The former are related to the latter as the foam on the waves is related to the currents in the depths of the ocean. That is to say, they are ephemeral phenomena.

The Egyptian revolution will unfold over a period of years, with ebbs and flows. There will be advances but also defeats and setbacks. But through all this, the workers and youth will learn. This learning process will be far shorter if the Egyptian Marxists do not make serious mistakes, like the mistake of calling for a vote for the Muslim Brotherhood. We must at all costs maintain absolute independence from all factions of the bourgeoisie.

Combining political firmness with the necessary tactical flexibility, the small forces of Marxism can begin to get an echo, beginning with the most advanced workers and youth. The experience of a government of the Muslim Brothers will open the eyes of the millions as to the real class nature of this movement, exposing the gulf that separates words and deeds, and preparing for a sharp turn to the Left at a later date.

The rigging of the elections has given a powerful impulse to the mass movement. This underlines the incorrectness of the attempts to block the advance of the counter-revolution by calling for a vote for the Muslim Brotherhood as “the lesser evil”.  In order to defeat the counter-revolution what is needed is not electoral pacts and combinations at the top, but the direct action of the masses.

The most advanced elements in Egypt have understood this.  In a protest against the rigging of the elections, protesters stormed the campaign headquarters of Shafiq in the Fayoum area south of Cairo. This and, above all, the mass protests on the streets of Cairo and other cities, show that the Revolution is not defeated, that it still has considerable reserves of energy, and that it will not surrender without a fight. That and that alone, is what we must base ourselves on.

The Marxists must have faith in themselves, in their programme and ideas. Above all, they must have faith in the revolutionary masses and the working class. Let us remind ourselves that the decisive element in the revolutionary equation, that eventually forced Mubarak out, was the intervention of the working class, and the working class remains the key to the whole situation.

The Egyptian Revolution was prepared by the biggest strike movement Egypt has witnessed in more than half a century. From 2004 to 2008 over 1.7 million workers participated in more than 1,900 strikes and other forms of protest. In the recent period there have been 3,000 strikes, including all sectors, both government and private. Many of them were successful, leading to wage increases. But the economic struggle is no longer enough. Even when strikes are successful and wages are increased, the effects are soon cancelled out by inflation.

The Egyptian Revolution has begun but it has not finished. In order to solve the problems of Egyptian society, it is necessary to break with capitalism, expropriate the capitalists and imperialists and carry out the socialist transformation of society. This is both possible and necessary. Let our slogan be:

"Thawra hatta'l nasr" (Revolution until Victory)

London, 3rd June, 2012