Malaysia: PSM 6 released after 28 days in detention

The Emergency Ordinance (EO) were released on Saturday after they were detained since July 2 for undefined charges during the Bersih 2.0 crackdown.

It is understood that they were released at 5.30pm at the Jinjang police station, following public outrage and sustained protests over their arbitrary detention.

The six Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) members - Choo Chon Kai, Sarat Babu, M Sarasvathy, M Sukumaran, A Letchumanan and Sungai Siput parliamentarian Dr Jeyakumar Devaraj - were initially detained on suspicion of planning to wage war against the King.

It was learnt that the charge was however changed several times, at one point accusing them of being ringleaders of the Bersih 2.0 rally on July 9.

In a short statement issued to the media, inspector-general of police Ismail Omar confirmed the release of the six from detention under the EO.

“Following their release, further action will be determined by the attorney-general's chambers,” he said in a two-paragraph statement.

When contacted, PSM secretary-general S Arutchelvan and their lawyer Edmund Bon confirmed that the six were released at 5.30pm.

In an immediate response to the release of the EO6, DAP advisor Lim Kit Siang said the authorities should take responsibility for detaining the six with bad intentions.

“Informed PSM6 released by police. Victory of people n reason. Hishammuddin/IGP shld apologise 4mala fide detention. Najib shld repeal EO,” he said on a Twitter posting.