العراق بعد خمسة سنوات

PrintE-mail
Arabic translation of Iraq: Five years after (March 20, 2008)

هناك مثل شرقي قديم يقول: "من الصعب على الرجل الذي يمتطي ظهر نمر أن يترجل". عندما اقتحمت قوات التحالف بغداد خلال شهر مارس من سنة 2003، كان الإمبرياليون يشعرون بثقة عارمة. كم من الأشياء كانوا سينجزون! إنهم وبفعل الدوار الذي تملكهم بسبب قوة آلتهم الحربية، توقعوا مستقبلا زاهرا للعراق وللشرق الأوسط.

وبينما كانت جزماتهم العسكرية مغروسة بقوة في عنق شعب منهك، أعلنوا بفخر أن العراق قد "تحرر". وقد تبجحوا بصخب أن هذه العملية التنويرية ستضمن الآن السلام والرفاهية للمنطقة بأسرها. ليس هذا فقط، بل إن شعوب العالم العربي الممتنة سوف تندفع أفواجا بلهفة نحو راية الديمقراطية الغربية، وهي تسبح بحمد جورج بوش ونبيه توني بلير. لكن الأشياء تبدو، بعد خمسة سنوات من ذلك، مختلفة جدا. إن العراق غارق في الفوضى، بعد خمسة سنوات عن خطاب جورج بوش السيء الذكر حول "المهمة المنتهية".

في ظل هذه الظروف يبدو من الغريب أن جورج بوش لا يزال قادرا على الادعاء أن احتلال الولايات المتحدة للعراق كان عملية ناجحة. إنه لا يزال يقول هذا حتى الآن، بل إنه من الممكن أن يكون مؤمنا بذلك حقا. في خطابه الذي ألقاه بمناسبة الذكرى الخامسة لغزو العراق، استعمل فعلا كلمة "انتصار" ثلاثة مرات. إلا أن القول بأنه قد تم كسب الحرب أو خسارتها رهين بما إذا كانت أهداف الحرب قد تحققت أم لا. دعونا نذكر بما كانت أهداف الإمبريالية الأمريكية من وراء الحرب.

أهداف الحرب

كان الهدف المعلن من وراء الغزو هو القضاء على أسلحة الدمار الشامل التي أكد كل من بوش وتوني بلير على أنها كانت موجودة في يد صدام حسين والتي كانا يزعمان أنها تشكل "خطرا حقيقيا وآنيا" على شعبي الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا. لكنه لم يتم العثور أبدا على مثل تلك الأسلحة، والجميع يعلم الآن أن ذلك الادعاء لم يكن سوى كذبة حقيرة، جزء من دعاية فجة هدفها خداع الرأي العام وتحويل انتباهه عن الأهداف الحقيقية لحرب الطبقات السائدة في بريطانيا والولايات المتحدة.

كان من المفترض أن الهدف الأساسي الآخر للحرب هو محاربة الإرهاب، وخاصة القاعدة. لكنه من المعلوم للجميع أن القاعدة لم يكن لها وجود في العراق في ظل صدام حسين، الذي كان عدوها اللدود. إلا أنه وبعد خمسة سنوات من الغزو، تمكنت القاعدة وأعضائها من خلق وجود قوي لهم في العراق، والذي يستعملونه لمهاجمة الأمريكيين وأصدقائهم العراقيين. لم يعمل غزو العراق على تقليص خطر الإرهاب، كما زعم بوش وتشيني، بل، على العكس من ذلك، زاد من وتيرته بشكل كبير.

خلال السنوات الخمسة الماضية ارتفعت حدة الإرهاب ليس فقط في العراق، بل في كل المنطقة المحيطة. وقد ازدادت الكراهية ضد أمريكا بشكل هائل بسبب الأعمال العنيفة التي يقوم بها المحتلون. وكنتيجة مباشرة لذلك، التحق آلاف الشباب في كل مناطق العالم العربي بالمنظمات الإرهابية، وهكذا لعب جورج وولكر بوش دور أكبر عضو تجنيد لصالح القاعدة.

صارت الحرب فاقدة للشعبية بشكل كبير داخل الولايات المتحدة. لقد أدت لحد الآن إلى مقتل أكثر من 4000 جندي أمريكي، دون الحديث عن عشرات الآلاف من الجرحى والمعطوبين. وتعتبر الخسائر الاقتصادية للحرب أكثر فداحة. لا أحد يعلم بدقة كم هي كلفتها، لكن إحدى التقديرات تحددها في أكثر من خمسة تريليون دولار.

هل سينسحبون؟

وجد كل من باراك أوباما وهيلاري كلينتون، المتنافسان الديمقراطيان على الرئاسة، أنفسهما مضطران إلى تبني مطلب الانسحاب السريع. المرشح الجمهوري جون ماك كين دافع بحزم عن الحرب، لكن هذا يعتبر أحد نقاط الضعف الرئيسية في حملته، خصوصا في سياق كساد اقتصادي.

يحاول بوش التأكيد على أن مستوى العنف قد تراجع في العراق، وأن عملية الاندفاع "surge" الأمريكية تسير بشكل جيد. لكن مستوى العنف لا يزال عاليا جدا، وكل ما حدث هو أن المتمردين قرروا الاختفاء لفترة من الوقت أو قرروا ببساطة التحرك إلى مناطق أخرى. بمجرد ما سيتم الإعلان عن انتهاء عملية الاندفاع (كما سوف يحدث) سيعود مستوى التمرد إلى الارتفاع.

حاليا هناك حوالي 158.000 جندي أمريكي في العراق، لكن من المفترض أن يتناقص هذا العدد إلى 140,000 هذا الصيف. بعد ذلك، سيطالب الجنرالات بوقف تخفيض عدد الجنود. لكن هذه قضية ساخنة بالنسبة لجميع المرشحين الثلاثة للرئاسة وخلال هذه السنة الانتخابية من المستبعد أن يختار أي منهم أن يقف في وجه الرأي العام الأمريكي.

يعود النجاح الذي يحققه أوباما بالدرجة الأولى لمعارضته للغزو؛ وتلقى وعوده بوقف الحرب شعبية هي أيضا. يقول أنه سوف يسحب الجنود مع نهاية سنة 2009، بالرغم من أنه قد لا يحدث هذا عمليا. إن خطته تبدو لنا غير واضحة، إذا ما نحن دققنا في تفاصيلها. يقول أنه سوف يسحب لواءا أو اثنين من الألوية المقاتلة في العراق كل شهر، وهذا سيبقي القوات الأمريكية، الموجودة في العراق بأعداد كبيرة، لمدة طويلة في المستقبل. وحتى بعد ذلك، يقول أنه سوف يترك في العراق جنودا "لحماية السفارة الأمريكية ومقاتلة القاعدة حيثما كان ذلك ضروريا"، وأنه سوف "يحتفظ بالحق" في إعادة التدخل في العراق في حال حدوث حملات إبادة جماعية. من الصعب أن نطلق على هذه الخطة تسمية خطة فك الارتباط!

أما بالنسبة لهيلاري كلينتون، فهي أيضا تدعو إلى سحب لواء أو لواءين كل شهر، مع ترك "قوات مواجهة خاصة قليلة العدد" لمواجهة الإرهابيين. لكن خطتها تعني استمرار التواجد في العراق لمدة أطول أكثر حتى مما يتصوره أوباما. ومن جهته أكد ماك كين، الذي تظهر عليه إشارات إما عن ثقة مفرطة بالنفس أو عن خرف شيخوخة مزمن، أنه على أمريكا أن تبقى في العراق وتقاتل وقال أنه يمكن لأمريكا أن تمتلك قواعد لها في ذلك البلد طوال مائة سنة بينما تعمل على إنهاء العمل الذي بدأته هناك. هذا يعني أنه أيا كان ساكن البيت الأبيض المقبل فإن الاحتلال سيطول. وفي هذه الأثناء سيموت مئات الجنود الأمريكيين وآلاف العراقيين.

إلا أن الواقع هو أنه أيا كان الرئيس المقبل للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية فإنه سيتوجب عليه القبول بحقيقة أن أمريكا قد خسرت الحرب. سوف يتوجب على القوات الأمريكية، إن عاجلا أو آجلا، أن تنسحب. السؤال الوحيد المطروح هو السرعة التي سيتم بها ذلك وإلى أي درجة سيكون من الممكن، عبر تقديم الهزيمة كنصر، إخفاء الإذلال الذي لحق بأمريكا.

أثناء الغزو تعامل بوش مع الأمم المتحدة باحتقار كامل، ودفع مجلس الأمن جانبا كشيء لا قيمة له (وهو كذلك فعلا). والآن يريد الديمقراطيون الاستعانة بالأمم المتحدة والحكومات الشرق أوسطية من أجل تسهيل الانسحاب الأمريكي. هكذا هي الحسابات الكلبية للدبلوماسية البورجوازية! إذ عندما تعتقد واشنطن أنه في إمكانها تحقيق أهدافها بالقوة، لا تجدها مهتمة بطلب خدمات الوسطاء. لكن الآن، عندما وجدت نفسها غارقة في مواجهة باهظة التكاليف ولا يمكن كسبها، هاهي تعيد اكتشاف قيمة الدبلوماسية وبدأت تترنم: "فليبارك الله صانعي السلام". بنفس طريقة ذلك المخمور الذي ينهض في الصباح، بعد حفل ساهر، وهو يشد على رأسه بسبب الصداع، فيكتشف فجأة إيجابيات الامتناع عن شرب الخمر ويقسم أنه لن يعود إلى الشرب مجددا... حتى الحفل المقبل.

لكن لسوء حظ واشنطن، لن تكون الأمم المتحدة متحمسة لمد يد المساعدة بعدما تعرض مقرها في بغداد للقصف خلال شهر غشت من سنة 2003. ولن يكون الروس والصينيون متلهفين إلى السماح لمجلس الأمن، الذي ازدراه الأمريكيون بشدة سنة 2003، ليستخدم كغطاء لانسحاب واشنطن. ولا الأوروبيون بدورهم سيسارعون للمساعدة.

هذا يعني أنه من أجل الانسحاب من العراق تحتاج أمريكا إلى التوصل إلى اتفاق مع القوى المجاورة للعراق: إيران وسوريا. يعتبر هذا الحل بغيضا من وجهة نظر بوش، لكنه لن يكون أمام الساكن المقبل للبيت الأبيض أي بديل آخر ما عدا البحث عن عقد اتفاق من ذلك النوع. لكن حتى هذا الحل ليس سهلا على الإطلاق بالنظر إلى فشل جهود سابقة للقيام به. يوجد الإيرانيون بوجه خاص في موقع قوي بالنظر إلى النفوذ الكبير الذي يتمتعون به بين شيعة العراق. سيكون على واشنطن أن تكون مستعدة لفتح محادثات مع إيران حول جميع القضايا، دون أن تطالبها بتعليق تخصيب الأورانيوم كشرط مسبق. سيتطلب هذا من الأمريكيين التراجعَ عن إطلاق التهديدات ضد برنامج إيران النووي، لكنه لن يكون لهم الكثير من الخيارات.

الجنون الطائفي

المشكلة المركزية هي أن الدولة العراقية، التي تم تدميرها خلال الغزو، لم يتم إعادة بنائها. لقد حاول الأمريكيون في البداية الاعتماد على الأكراد والشيعة، لكن هذا أدى إلى إغضاب السنة. الطرد الصارم، الذي وجه ضد جميع أعضاء حزب البعث السابقين، من جميع الوظائف العمومية زاد في إهانة الساكنة السنية، التي دعمت التمرد المسلح. لقد غرق البلد في أتون مواجهة طائفية عرقية ودينية تهدد بتدمير نسيج المجتمع العراقي من أساسه. ارتفعت موجة من التفجيرات الانتحارية والخطف وغيرها من الفظاعات الطائفية، وبدأت التقاطبات داخل الساكنة السنية والشيعية وانقسمت إلى مناطق مختلفة. وبما أن قوات الشرطة ليست قادرة على حمايتهم من العنف الطائفي، اعتمدوا على قوات الميليشيات المحلية. ومع تزايد نفوذ الميليشيات الشيعية والسنية، يتراجع نفوذ الحكومة المركزية.

إن الإمبرياليين الأمريكيين أنفسهم يتحملون مسئولية كبيرة في اندلاع هذا الجنون الطائفي. وقد اكتشفوا في وقت متأخر جدا أنهم بتدميرهم للجيش العراقي أزالوا القوة الوحيدة القادرة على التصدي للنفوذ الإيراني في المنطقة. الشيعة، الذين اعتبرتهم واشنطن في البداية حلفاء لها، استداروا بشكل متزايد نحو إيران. عندها قرر الأمريكيون تغيير سياستهم وحاولوا احتواء الميليشيات الشيعية عبر تجنيد السنة. وتم إقرار مراجعة قانون محاربة البعث. كانت هذه إجراءات غير محتملة من وجهة نظر الشيعة لكنها كانت غير كافية من وجهة نظر السنة، الذين يرون أن هذا القانون لا يزال مقيدا جدا. ولا يزال من الضروري إصلاح القوانين الخاصة باقتسام عائدات النفط وتلك الخاصة بالانتخابات الإقليمية. ولا تمكن مراجعة الدستور دون التسبب في المزيد من إلهاب المشاعر الطائفية أكثر فأكثر.

في زيارة له إلى العراق لتخليد الذكرى الخامسة للغزو الذي تم بقيادة الولايات المتحدة، عمل نائب الرئيس الأمريكي، ديك تشيني، على كيل المديح لما يراه تحسنا في الوضع السياسي والأمني في البلد، حيث اعتبره "اسثنائيا". لقد كان السيد ديك تشيني غير محظوظ في التوقيت الذي اختاره لإلقاء خطابه، حيث ومباشرة بعده تعرض مؤتمر للمصالحة بين الأحزاب السياسية إلى الفشل، عندما انسحبت مجموعات سنية وشيعية منه. تفيد هذه الحادثة الصغيرة في تأكيد الطبيعة الجد هشة للوضع القائم وللحكومة نفسها.

الهمجية الإمبريالية

لقد تم إغراق العراق، الذي كان أحد أكثر دول المنطقة تقدما وثقافة، في ظروف مروعة، أقرب ما تكون إلى الهمجية. حسب آخر التقديرات قتل أكثر من مليون عراقي نتيجة للصراع الدائر في بلدهم منذ غزو سنة 2003. وسنة 2006، أعلنت المجلة الطبية البريطانية الرفيعة المستوى، The Lancet، عن مقتل ما بين 392.979 و942.636 شخصا. وقد أثار هذا سيلا من الشتائم من جانب الإدارتين الأمريكية والبريطانية، الحريصتين على إبقاء الرأي العام غافلا عن الكوارث التي فرضت على شعب العراق. لكن الأرقام الأخيرة بينت أنه حتى مجلة The Lancet لم تقدر بالشكل الصحيح عدد القتلى العراقيين في هذه المواجهة.

بين مسح أجرته مؤخرا مجموعة Opinion Research Business (ORB)، التي تعتبر إحدى المجموعات الرائدة في ما يخص الاستطلاعات، أن 20% من العراقيين سقط لديهم قتيل واحد، على الأقل، من أفراد أسرتهم نتيجة هذه المواجهة. يصل الرقم إلى حوالي 100 قتيل يوميا. مما يفوق عدد القتلى خلال حرب الإبادة الجماعية في رواندا.

لا يعكس عدد القتلى حجم المعاناة التي يعيشها شعب العراق. لقد أجبر أربعة ملايين شخص على الفرار من منازلهم وزادوا من أعداد اللاجئين المتواجدين في ظل ظروف مأساوية في المخيمات بسوريا والأردن. إن هذه كارثة إنسانية رهيبة يحافظ أمامها "الإنسانيون" الغربيون على صمت مطبق. وقد تعرض قطاعا التعليم والصحة، اللذان كان مستواهما عاليا جدا في العراق، إلى التدمير الفعلي. ملايين العراقيين لا يصلون إلى الماء النظيف، ناهيك عن المدارس والمستشفيات.

تحطم هذه الحقائق بشكل كامل الأساطير المنافقة حول الطبيعة الإنسانية المزعومة لغزو العراق. لقد أراق كل من بوش وبلير دموع التماسيح حول المصير المحزن الذي كان الشعب العراقي يعيشه في ظل صدام حسين. نعم إن صدام حسين كان وحشا، لكن الإمبرياليين وحوش أشد ضراوة. الإمبرياليون لا تحركهم الدوافع الإنسانية أو الديمقراطية أو أي من المثل الرفيعة الأخرى، التي يستخدمونها كغطاء لإخفاء مصالحهم الحقيقية التي تهتم بالاستغلال القذر والنهب السافر.

لقد كان غزو العراق عملا إجراميا قام به مجرمون اعتقدوا أنه في إمكانهم نهب ثروة العراق النفطية واقتسام مناطق نفوذ جديدة وفتح مجالات جديدة أمام كبريات الشركات في الشرق الأوسط. لكن هذه المغامرة انتهت بشكل سيء. العراقيون يقاومون وبدل أن يحقق هؤلاء المجرمون الأرباح، هاهم يتكبدون خسائر فادحة. حتى أغنى بلد في العالم عاجز عن أن يتحمل إلى الأبد مثل هذا النزيف من الدماء والذهب.

الإمبريالية الأمريكية هي القوة الأكثر رجعية فوق هذا الكوكب. جرائمها كثيرة ويدفع ثمنها ملايين الرجال والنساء والأطفال الأبرياء بمعاناتهم وقتلاهم. لكن هذه الجرائم صارت تثير استنكار ملايين البشر الآخرين، لا سواء داخل الولايات المتحدة أو في العالم. الحركة ضد الاحتلال الإجرامي للعراق تتصاعد، ومعها يتصاعد الوعي بأنه لكي تتمكن الإنسانية من البقاء، يجب القضاء على الرأسمالية ونسلها البشع، الإمبريالية، ومسحهما من على وجه الأرض. وفي النهاية عندما ستنقش الإنسانية كلمة أخيرة على قبر هذا الوحش، ستتذكر حكم المؤرخ تاسيتوس على الإمبريالية الرومانية:

"لقد خلقوا همجية وأطلقوا عليها اسم السلام"

لندن: 20 مارس 2008

Source: Marxy.com

Home » Other languages » Arabic

Iraq: Five years after

When the coalition forces marched into Baghdad in March 2003, the imperialists were full of confidence. The things they were going to do! Intoxicated by the power of their military machine, they predicted a glowing future for Iraq and the Middle East. How different things are now!

There is an old oriental saying: a man who rides on the back of a tiger will find it difficult to dismount. When the coalition forces marched into Baghdad in March 2003, the imperialists were full of confidence. The things they were going to do! Intoxicated by the power of their military machine, they predicted a glowing future for Iraq and the Middle East.

Iraq With their jackboot firmly planted on the throat of a prostrate people, they proudly announced that Iraq had been "liberated". They loudly boasted that this enlightened operation would now guarantee peace and prosperity for the whole region. Not only that, the grateful peoples of the Arab world would eagerly flock to the banner of Western Democracy, singing the praises of George Bush and his Prophet Tony Blair. But five years later, things seem very different. Five years after George Bush's notorious "mission accomplished" speech, Iraq is in chaos.

Under these circumstances it seems extraordinary that George Bush can still maintain that the US occupation of Iraq has been successful. Yet this is what the man says and it is even possible it is what he believes. In his speech on the fifth anniversary of the invasion, he actually mentioned the word "victory" three times. However, whether a war has been won or lost depends on whether its war aims have been achieved or not. Let us recall what the war aims of US imperialism were.

The war aims

The declared aim of the invasion was to eliminate the weapons of mass destruction that Bush and Blair maintained were in the hands of Saddam Hussein and which were alleged to be a "real and present danger" to the peoples of the USA and Britain. But no such weapons were ever discovered, and everybody now knows that this was just a cynical lie, a piece of crude propaganda intended to deceive public opinion as to the real war aims of the British and American ruling classes.

Iraq The other main purpose was supposed to be to combat terrorism, and specifically, al-Qaeda. But it is common knowledge that al-Qaeda was not present in Iraq under Saddam Hussein, who was its bitterest enemy. Five years after the invasion, however, al-Qaeda and its affiliates have established a strong presence in Iraq, which they use to attack Americans and their Iraqi friends. The invasion of Iraq did not reduce the threat of terrorism, as Bush and Cheney claimed. On the contrary, it enormously increased it.

Over the past five years terrorism has increased not only in Iraq but in all the surrounding region. The hatred of America has been colossally exacerbated by the violent actions of the occupiers. As a direct result, thousands of young people all over the Arab world have joined terrorist organizations. Thus, George W Bush has been the most effective recruiting sergeant for al-Qaeda.

The war is now deeply unpopular in the USA. It has already caused the deaths of over 4,000 American soldiers, not to speak of the tens of thousands of wounded and crippled. The economic costs of the war are even greater. Nobody knows exactly how much it has cost, but one estimate puts it as high as five trillion dollars.

Will they withdraw?

The two Democratic contenders to the Presidency, Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton, have been compelled to advocate a quick withdrawal. The Republican candidate John McCain has consistently backed the war but this is one of the main weaknesses of his campaign, especially in the context of an economic recession.

Bush tries to argue that the level of violence has fallen in Iraq, and that the surge of American troops is working. But it remains extremely high, and all that has happened is that the insurgents have decided to lie low for a time or simply moved to other areas. As soon as the end of the surge of American troops is announced (as it must be) there will be an increase in the insurgency.

At present there are approximately 158,000 American soldiers in Iraq, but that is supposed to fall to 140,000 this summer. After that, the generals would like a pause in reductions of troop levels. But this is an explosive issue for all three prospective presidential candidates and in an election year it is not likely that anybody will choose to fly in the face of US public opinion.

Obama makes much of his opposition to the invasion in the first place; and his promise to end the war is popular too. He says that he would get troops out by the end of 2009, although in practice this may not happen. If we look at the details of his plan, it is not so clear. He says he would withdraw one or two combat brigades from Iraq each month, thus keeping American troops present in large numbers for a long time in the future. Even after that, he says he would leave soldiers "to protect America's embassy and to fight al-Qaeda where necessary", and that he would "reserve the right" to re-enter Iraq to stop a genocide. This is hardly an unambiguous plan for disengagement!

As for Hillary Clinton, she too calls for removing one to two brigades each month, while leaving "small, elite strike forces" to tackle terrorists. But her plans appear to be for a longer presence in Iraq than even Obama envisages. For his part, McCain, who is showing signs either of excessive self-confidence or advanced senile decay, has stated that America must stay and fight in Iraq and he has said that America may have bases in that country in 100 years while it finishes the job it started in Iraq. This means that whoever is in the White House, the occupation will drag on. In the meantime, hundreds more American soldiers and thousands of Iraqis will die.

Iraq However, the fact it that whoever becomes the next President of the United States will have to come to terms with the fact that the war has been lost. Sooner or later the US forces will have to be pulled out. The only question is how fast and to what degree it will be possible to disguise America's humiliation by presenting defeat as a victory.

At the time of the invasion, George Bush treated the United Nations with complete contempt, brushing aside the Security Council as an irrelevance (which it is). Now the Democrats want to bring in the United Nations and Middle Eastern governments to facilitate an American withdrawal. Such are the cynical calculations of bourgeois diplomacy! As long as Washington thought that it could secure its objectives by force, it was not interested in the services of mediators. But now that it realizes that it is trapped in an unwinnable and costly conflict, it has rediscovered the value of diplomacy and begins to chant: "blessed are the Peacemakers". In the same way a drunken man, clutching his head the morning after a party, suddenly discovers the joys of abstinence and swears he will never drink again: until the next party.

Unfortunately for Washington, the UN might not be so keen to help out since its headquarters in Baghdad were bombed in August 2003. The Russians and Chinese will not be eager to allow the Security Council, which was so high-handedly spurned by the Americans in 2003 now to be used as a cover for Washington's retreat. Nor will the Europeans rush to help.

This means that, in order to withdraw from Iraq, America needs to reach a deal with the neighbouring powers: Iran and Syria. This is anathema to George Bush, but the next occupant of the White House will have no other alternative but to seek a deal. Even this is not at all clear, since efforts to engage them before have failed. The Iranians in particular are in a strong position since they have a lot of influence with the Iraqi Shia population. Washington will have to be prepared to open discussions with Iran on all issues, without requiring it to suspend nuclear enrichment first. This will be a lot to swallow after all the bluff and bluster over Iran's nuclear programme, but they do not have much alternative.

Sectarian madness

The central problem is that the Iraqi state, which was destroyed at the time of the invasion, has not been reconstructed. The Americans first tried to base themselves on the Kurds and Shiites. But this alienated the Sunnis. The rigorous exclusion of all former Baath Party members from all public office further offended the Sunni population, which swung behind the armed insurgency. The country degenerated into sectarian, ethnic and religious conflict that threatened to destroy the very fabric of Iraqi society. A wave of suicide bombings, kidnapping and other sectarian atrocities increased, and Sunni and Shia populations became polarized and divided into different areas. Since the police were incapable of defending them against sectarian violence, they relied instead on local militias. As the power of the Shiite and Sunni militias grew, that of the central government declined.

The American imperialists themselves were largely responsible for this sectarian madness. They realized too late that by destroying the Iraqi army they had removed the only force that could act as a counterweight to Iranian power in the region. The Shiites, who they at first regarded as allies, increasingly turned to Iran. The Americans then decided to change their policy and tried to contain the Shiite militias by recruiting support among the Sunnis. A law revising harsh de-Baathification was passed. This is too much for the Shiites but too little for the Sunnis, who still see the law as far too restrictive. Laws on sharing oil revenues and on provincial elections still have to be reformed. And the constitution cannot be revised without inflaming sectarian passions still further.

On a visit to mark the fifth anniversary of the American-led invasion, Dick Cheney, America's vice-president, went to Baghdad to praise what he sees as political and security improvements in the country as "phenomenal". Mr. Cheney was unlucky in the timing of his speech. Immediately afterwards, a conference to conciliate rival political parties fell apart, as Sunni and Shia groups walked out. This little incident serves to underline the extremely fragile nature of the situation and the government itself.

Imperialist barbarism

Iraq, which was one of the most developed and cultured states in the region, has been reduced to an appalling condition, bordering on barbarism. More than one million Iraqis have died as a result of the conflict in their country since the invasion in 2003, according to the latest estimates. In 2006 the prestigious British medical journal The Lancet calculated a range of 392,979 to 942,636 deaths. This provoked a torrent of abuse from the British and American establishment, eager to maintain the public in ignorance about the calamities that have been inflicted on the people of Iraq. But the latest figures show that even The Lancet seriously underestimated the numbers of Iraqis killed in this conflict.

Iraq A recent survey conducted by Opinion Research Business (ORB), one of Britain's leading polling groups, showed that 20 percent of Iraqis had had at least one death in their household as a result of the conflict, rather than natural causes. This amounts to about 1000 deaths per day. It outnumbers the death toll of the Rwandan genocide.

The numbers of people killed does not exhaust the litany of sufferings of the people of Iraq. Over four million people have been forced to flee from their homes and swell the ranks of the refugees eking out a miserable existence in camps in Syria and Jordan. This is a vast humanitarian disaster, about which our western "humanitarians" maintain a discrete silence. Education and health, which were on quite a high level in Iraq, have been virtually destroyed. Millions of Iraqis do not have access to clean water, let alone a school or hospital.

These facts completely explode the hypocritical myths about the supposedly humanitarian nature of the invasion of Iraq. Bush and Blair shed crocodile tears about the sad fate of the Iraqi people under Saddam Hussein. Yes, Hussein was a monster, but the imperialists are even bigger monsters. They are not motivated by humanitarianism, democracy or any of the other fine-sounding ideals that they use as a smoke screen to cover up their real interests, which are concerned with sordid profiteering and downright robbery.

The invasion of Iraq was a criminal act perpetrated by gangsters who thought they could loot the oil wealth of Iraq and carve up new spheres of interest and playgrounds for the big oil companies in the Middle East. Only this adventure turned out badly. The Iraqis are fighting back and instead of profits, they are suffering huge losses. Even the wealthiest country on earth cannot indefinitely sustain such a haemorrhage of blood and gold.

American imperialism is the most counter-revolutionary force on the planet. Its crimes are legion and are paid for by the suffering and deaths of millions of innocent men, women and children. But these crimes are provoking the indignation of other millions, both in the United States and worldwide. The movement against the criminal occupation of Iraq is growing, and with it the realization that in order that humanity might live, capitalism and its monstrous offspring imperialism must vanish from the face of the earth. And when humanity finally carves an epitaph on the tomb of this monster, it will remember the verdict of the historian Tacitus on Roman imperialism:

"They have created a wilderness and call it Peace."

London, March 20, 2008


See also: